MBA Alumni Member News

Boshan Dayaratne - President  (2021-22)


Boshan is the Group Director/CEO, CICRA Holdings – Sri Lanka’s pioneering information security training, certification and consultancy organization. He is being invited for many events as a keynote speaker on cyber security.

 Invited by the United States Pacific Command, Boshan has addressed the Pacific Senior Communicators' annual event on cybersecurity since 2013; this annual event is represented by senior military officials from over 28 nations in Asia and the Pacific. Boshan focuses on responding to cyber security disaster recovery. His organisation also conducts cybersecurity training at the annual Cyber Endeavor Program of the Multinational Communication Interoperability Program of the US Pacific Command since during the past six years.

 Boshan has also been appointed as a US – Malaysia Command and Control Interoperability Board Member on Cyber Security in 2015.

Being a Cyber Security Evangelist, Boshan is an active promoter of the ‘Cyber Security Summit’ in Sri Lanka – which is now on sixth consecutive year; He also convinced Deakin University, Australia to launch Sri Lanka’s first Bachelor’s Degree in Cyber Security in partnership with CICRA.

Boshan has an MBA from the University of Colombo. He also has a degree in Business Management from the University of Colombo, ACIM-UK, and Diploma in Sports Science from Hungarian University of Physical Education.

 Boshan was Sri Lanka’s number one Tennis player during 1995/96.

Other than the post of Vice President of MBA Alumni Association University of Colombo, he holds the following voluntary positions, Chairman, Royal College Union Skills & Career Development Centre, General Council member of Sri Lanka Association of Software & Service Companies (SLASSCOM).


Ranga Ratnayake -  President (2020-21)
An Old Boy of Royal College, Ranga joined the Exco in 2011  and held many positions before he was elected Deputy President. He is a member of the Institute of Directors and also the Institute of Chemistry. He has a Master's degree from Colombo and a Master's in Chemistry. He is currently a General Manager at Lanken Ceylon PLC a large company dealing in paints, chemicals, detergents, and agricultural products.



 Saranga Wijeyarathne - Past President


Recent Speech delivered by Saranga as the President of the Chamber of Commerce

 The Colombo Chamber of Commerce has appointed Saranga Wijeyarathne as its new President for the year 2019-2021. The Chamber made this announcement at its Annual General Meeting held recently at the Sri Lanka Foundation.

 Saranga holds an MBA from the University of Colombo and a first-class degree in Marketing Management from the University of Sri Jayawardenapura. He is a fully-qualified member of the Sri Lanka Institute of Marketing (SLIM) and has part-qualifications from the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka (CA-Sri Lanka).

 He is currently serving as a Director of the Federation of Chambers of Commerce & Industry of Sri Lanka (FCCISL). He held the prestigious position of President of the Colombo University MBA Alumni Association in 2013-14, and has served as the Director of the International Advertising Association (IAA). He also served as a Member of the Global Advisory Board of the World Brand Congress 2015 in Singapore.

 Saranga is currently serving as the Director-General of the national television station, Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation.


 Irshan Jayah - Past President


 Past President Irshan Jayah - General Manager Marketing International Business Elastomric at Engineering Co Ltd  invited by the sister Company to serve in the United States as Director Business Development America’s and to manage Rubber and Poly product portfolio with effect from July 2019.

 Irshan is a B.Com ( special) from University of Sri Jayawardanapura and an MBA from University of Colombo. He is also a Dip M, MCIM ( UK ) and a Chartered Marketer.  He is married  to Rishana and has two daughters.


Ms. Manohari Abeysekera -   President (2019-20)
Manohari currently serves as the Director – Strategy & Business Development at Fentons Limited and Director Hayleys Group Services. In her 17 year stint at Hayleys Group, she was attached to the Hayleys PLC, parent company and until May 2019, she served as the Head - Strategic Business Development of Hayleys PLC. An Alumnus of KPMG, Manohari is a Fellow of Chartered Institute of Management Accountant (CIMA-UK) and the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka. She read for the MBA from the University of Colombo winning three gold medals for the best overall performance. Her first degree is in Biology (1st Class Honours) from the University of Colombo. A Prize-winner at CIMA Finals- Strategic Financial Management, Manohari was adjudged as CIMA Young Star (Silver) in 2004.

Manohari currently serves as the Chairperson of CIMA Sri Lanka Country Network Panel. Elected to the CIMA SL Board for two terms 2012-2014 & 2015-2017, Manohari served in the MESANA Regional Board in 2017. She also serves in the Board of International Chamber of Commerce (SL).

She had Executive Education at ISB Hyderabad, ADB Manila and BHF Bank Germany. In March 2019, Manohari was selected to represent Sri Lanka by the US State Department in the Fortune Mentoring Program for female leaders. She received the AOTS Scholarship Japan in 2015. In 2014, Manohari was selected for the prestigious IVLP Program by the Dept. of State, USA. Manohari has received many awards for Women Leadership –Women in Management SL (2012), World Women Leadership Congress -Mumbai (2015) and South Asian Partnership Summit- Dhaka (2017). Manohari read for the Diploma in International Relations conducted by the Bandaranaike International Diplomatic Training Institute, where she was awarded the Vernon Mendis Memorial




Kulendren Sivaram - Exco Member


Mr Sivaram was recently  appointed consultant to Hon Dr Suren Raghavan, Governor, Northern Province.
Sivaram is Director of Yal Coco Pvt Ltd, Lanka Sustainable Ventures Pvt Ltd, MK Biomass Pvt Ltd, MK Agri Products  Pvt Ltd.
Eshani Thenuwara - Exco Member

 The new treasurer for 2019-20 is M/s Eshani Thenuwara MBA 2014 She obtained a merit pass and she was the winner of the Dr. Linus Silva gold medal for Overall Performance. She is also CGMA having obtained the World Prize for Finance and has a First class in the Bachelor's in Finance from University of Sri Jayawardanapura At the Association, she chaired the Member Communication Committee and Co- chaired the Pre and Post Budget Committees She is the Assistant Vice President in Debt Capital Markets division of the NDB Investment Bank. Her other interests are as Executive Committee Member of the Past Pupils Association of Museaus College and as a Member of the CIMA Member Engagement Sub Committee She is admirably suited to be our Treasurer.

 As Treasurer Eshani hopes to be prudent in managing funds. She would attempt to create wealth for the organisation strongly mindful of defalcation and peculation.She will treat herself as a custodian of the Association’s assets and make them work for the good of the members.




Ms.Deepani Herath

 Deepani herath


Deepani Herath ftom the 2003/2005 batch worked for the Inland Revenue Depatment and retired as a Deputy Commissioner General. Presently she is working for Pricewaterhouse Coopers (PwC), a leading audit firm as Senior Tax Consultant.